Atlético de Madrid

The love that hurts.

  • About Me

    26 year old in New York; Passionate fan of the beautiful game; lover of Argentina (los Albicelestes); long-suffering, devoted supporter of Atlético Madrid (los Rojiblancos) for the past 13 years.
  • a

  • Archives

Diego Forlan Transfers to Atlético

Posted by atleti on June 30, 2007

Atlético Madrid, Villarreal, and Forlan’s agent came to a transfer agreement today. The Uruguayan, who is currently in Venezuela for the Copa America, has agreed to join my rojiblancos on a 4-year contract.

Simply put: I think Forlan is a great signing for los rojiblancos. Yes, I will miss Torres– El Niño   has a spot in the club’s history, but he feels it is his time to move on (and frankly I do too) and I respect that. I wish him nothing but success at Liverpool.

Atlético still need to rebuild the midfield- will the club go after their long-term transfer target Ricardo Quaresma? Here’s hoping…

Forlan was born on 19-May 1979 in Montevideo, Uruguay. He began his footballing career at Independiente de Avellaneda before his massive transfer move to Manchester United in January 2002. After a fairly  unsuccessful time in England, he was sold to Villarreal in the summer 2004 where he has enjoyed three fantastic footballing seasons, which included the Pichichi award and the Golden Boot (which he shared with Thierry Henry).

[More on Atleti’s striking options once the transfer market comes to a slow-down.]

6 Responses to “Diego Forlan Transfers to Atlético”

  1. Forlan is a great player that is player worse and worse each game. Torres > Forlan.

  2. atleti said

    I would love to see a Forlan-Torres frontline, but that won’t happen, I’m certain. That said, Forlan is a great player and I think will bring new ideas to the frontline– and score goals. I think you’re writing him off too soon. In any case, what I crave more than anything else is CONSISTENCY.

  3. […] Diego Forlan Transfers to Atlético […]

  4. facundo said

    forlan is a great player.
    he has had his errors but he continues to do his best,scoring goals.
    he has something important in soccer nd thats passion.
    forlan is my fav player from uruguay.
    he also continues to be in the top goal scorers of spain.
    currently the 2nd after eto.
    c ya, nd dont judge him until u actually c at least 15 games of him.

  5. aaron said

    my fav player forlan continues to make goals!!!!!!
    uruguay!!!

  6. pierre garcon…

    […]Diego Forlan Transfers to Atlético « Atlético de Madrid[…]…

Leave a comment