Atlético de Madrid

The love that hurts.

  • About Me

    26 year old in New York; Passionate fan of the beautiful game; lover of Argentina (los Albicelestes); long-suffering, devoted supporter of Atlético Madrid (los Rojiblancos) for the past 13 years.
  • a

  • Archives

29-October Club News/Update

Posted by atleti on October 29, 2007

Seitaridis seems to have recovered from the knock he received while playing for the Greece NT: He participated in all training session activities today.

Miguel participated as well, but only in the activities that the physio marked down.

Mista & Motta were the only ones who didn’t participate at all. A bit confusing, no? Last one, Motta was involved, but in this one he was left out. I suppose he still has at least a couple weeks left before he’ll play again. Jeez.

Speaking of Mista, MARCA suggests that he might be on his way out of the club in January, with Real Murcia (located in his hometown) as a possible destination.

REMINDER: Jornada 10 (home to Sevilla) is a weekday fixture on Wednesday.

{UPDATE} Atleti v Sevilla will be available on GolTV for US viewers.

13 Responses to “29-October Club News/Update”

  1. Willen said

    I really don’t like Mista that much. I think we have all the strikers we need. He’s a nice player and will be in the first team in Murcia..

    About Motta.. I’m brazilian.. and I really don’t like him.. =)

  2. atleti said

    It would be great if he left in January since there is no use for him, plus he’s proven to be ineffective when he does play.

    Motta– still hasn’t contributed…

  3. Mohammed said

    I think it would be better if Aguirre changes Motta’s position from a defensive midfielder to a centre back. At least, may be he won’t get injured as much. He has a good physique and he is very solid defensively. I guess he would make a good defender.

  4. atleti said

    That’s what I was hoping for: that he would have an opportunity to play centre-back & solve some of our defensive problems. Hopefully he won’t suffer another injury once he’s fit from this one.

  5. Mohammed said

    This game is very very important. If we win, there is a good chance that we come in third place, esp. if valencia draw with Re@l Madrid.

    Of coarse, we have been known to blow our chances in the last few seasons, and they were golden chances. Hopefully, this time we won’t.

  6. Leivinha said

    Motta deserves a chance to show what he can do. I think he is ready to prove the Barsa critics wrong (with a fresh start at Atleti) and can bring a one touch passing skill level to the midfield that we are currently lacking.

    As for Mista, besides the fact that he looks like Popeye or Sean Penn in his earlier years, I welcome his departure….he has no skill and I would have preferred it if Aleti had kept Braulio instead of loaning him to Getafe. They don’t really have any back-up strikers although Maxi & Luis Garcia could probably fill in at the top of the box (media punta).

    Where is this Blog based out of?

  7. atleti said

    First, there seems to be some technical difficulties with WORDPRESS over the comment sections, I’ve noticed.

    Leivinha, thanks for your comment & hilarious description of Mista!

    re Motta: I agree with you. At the very least, he deserves an opportunity to prove whether he is worthy of remaining with the club or not.

    I agree with you 100% on the insanity of keeping Mista over Braulio. I’ve mentioned it several times. If Mista is let go in January, then we must bring in another striker as that would leave us with slim options up front. I hope that we can rid ourselves of Eller & Cleber, too. That would allow us to bring in Biglia & a quality centre-back (unless Motta is fully fit by then, which isn’t a guarantee). I sound like a broken record, but I just hope the correct decisions are made in January!

    I am based in New York.

  8. Ram said

    We cannot let go Mista in the mid season as he is the only center forward in the bench as against Maxi or Luis who can also “play there”. Never rush in getting some players as it is more difficult to get rid of players than to buy new one.

  9. atleti said

    Yes, we desperately lack a fit 3rd striker at the moment.

  10. Luiz Pereira said

    I hope Popeye goes back to his olive oil orchard in Murcia. The only time I’ve EVER seen him score is when some other player has completely set him-up with a wide open goal, and all he had to do is tap it in.

    As for Cleber, I have yet to see him play. It seems like the only playing time he gets is during the UEFA competitions.

    For me, the investment has to go to our defense. We have world-class forwards, a strong midfield (although no real playmaker yet), and a defense that creates a huge imbalance in our team. I don’t like Pernia at all. I can’t comprehend why he’s on the Spanish national team.

  11. Luiz Pereira said

    One more thing. Regarding Motta, he’s a very strong defensive midfielder that could very well play center back. He’s a vocal leader and his great touch. My only worry is his ability to stay healthy. It seems like the guy’s ALWAYS injured. My first thought when we signed was, “injury-prone.”

  12. atleti said

    Great comments– we’re completely in agreement over all these issues. I say we launch a takeover bid in January.

    Pernia is only on the NT because he’s good friends with Aragones, I think. I can’t think of another logical reason behind that.

    In an ideal situation, the club would bring in at least two new defenders & Biglia. I’m fixated on us obtaining Biglia because I think he can be our answer to a much-needed playmaker.

  13. I hope Mista go to Real Murcia. He is a old player that should left out Atletico. Braulio is the player that should been stayed. Look his fantastic goal versus Tottenham.

Leave a Reply

 
