Atlético de Madrid

The love that hurts.

  • About Me

    26 year old in New York; Passionate fan of the beautiful game; lover of Argentina (los Albicelestes); long-suffering, devoted supporter of Atlético Madrid (los Rojiblancos) for the past 13 years.
  • a

  • Archives

Transfer News: Riquelme Officially transfers to Atlético Madrid

Posted by atleti on August 30, 2007

UPDATE (31-AUGUST): RIQUELME TRANSFER NEVER WENT THROUGH. 

 

 I first talked about this in mid-July when the rumour first surfaced and a little over a month since then, it has finally happened. Brilliant signing as we lack a playmaker. I don’t want to speak about the true genius of Riquelme (we all know about his abilities and vision on the pitch)– but I will discuss how his arrival will affect us, los rojiblancos, from a technical standpoint- formations and such.

At this point, I don’t think Aguirre has a clear idea of how he will form a squad around the Argentine without sacrificing Atleti favourite and fellow countryman, Sergio ‘kun’ Aguero. I’ve discussed a teeny bit of this in the below entry (check out the comment section). If we use a 4-2-3-1 formation, Aguirre will have to bench Forlan or Kun. With Forlan and Riquelme having played together at Villarreal and forming a dynamic pair over there– I think Aguirre will create formations based around them. Again, my main question mark surrounds KUN. I want to see the little Argentine in the starting 11– he’s in form, energetic, and I’d hate to see spend most of his time on the bench (like last season)– I want to see him play alongside Riquelme. Is it possible?

If anyone out that can come up with a formation that can incorporate Riquelme and Forlan without sacrificing Aguero, please share!

Another issue: one too many wingers without any guarantee of a starting spot now: Maxi, Simao, Reyes, Luis Garcia.

Luis Garcia: still mildly injury-prone and has been used more in Intertoto/UEFA games, I’ve noticed. He occupied a spot on the bench in round 1, but remain unused. Overall, I think he’s the least effected by the arrival of Riquelme, although it might mean less appearances in Liga games (unless there’s a significant injury).

Maxi: a great player and I’m quite excited that he’ll be able to work with Riquelme on the club-level. I think he’ll grow even more as a player.

Simao and Reyes: Manager Aguirre has used them interchangeably; if one is starting, the other will sub for him and vice versa. I can’t see this changing much. At this point, it appears Aguirre prefers Simao over Reyes, in terms of starting 11. We certainly can’t say we don’t have attacking options on the bench.

Today’s our final leg of the UEFA Qualifier against FK Vojvodina in Serbia (see entry below for details).

Surf in for details on our progress.

8 Responses to “Transfer News: Riquelme Officially transfers to Atlético Madrid”

  1. […] Román Riquelme has signed a two year contract with Atlético Madrid. There, it’s done at last. Now let’s move […]

  2. Linda said

    It’s strange to see that Riquelme-Forlan partnership re-established at another club. Maxi I think won’t be affected at all, but I’m not sure about Luis Garcia. As you said, he might play more UEFA Cup matches, but in the league?

  3. atleti said

    Oi, I clarified my Luis Garcia bit because (I didn’t realise it until now) it was poorly worded (worded? Is that a word?).

    It is a bit strange to think that Atleti will attempt to emulate their Villarreal partnership.

    re Luis Garcia: I think he’ll also play a major part in Copa del Rey games. Just a hunch.

  4. atleti said

    NB: I failed to include Jurado in my bit about wingers– in truth, he’s always more of a bench option than a starting 11 player, especially now that we have significantly better options now.

  5. Ken said

    Why not a 4-3-1-2 or 4-1-2-1-2 (same thing really) w/both Kun and Forlan up front? That’s what Boca Juniors did, they kept Palermo and Palacio up there with him.

  6. atleti said

    Those are great options, thanks for sharing.

    At this point, Riquelme’s transfer is on ‘Stand By’– imagine after all of this talk, he ends up not joining the club– what a long, drawn-out situation.

  7. naigignFek said

    It’s amazing

  8. Not that I’m totally impressed, but this is a lot more than I expected for when I stumpled upon a link on SU telling that the info here is awesome. Thanks.
    p.s. Year One is already on the Internet and you can watch it for free.

Leave a Reply

 
