Atlético de Madrid

The love that hurts.

  • About Me

    26 year old in New York; Passionate fan of the beautiful game; lover of Argentina (los Albicelestes); long-suffering, devoted supporter of Atlético Madrid (los Rojiblancos) for the past 13 years.
  • a

  • Archives

Simao Sabrosa Officially Joins Atlético Madrid!

Posted by atleti on July 27, 2007

Atletico have officially signed winger Simao Sabrosa on a 4-year contract worth €20 million; he is the 7th signing the club have made for the 07/08 season and a very, very good one. The club shelled out an enormous amount for him and I hope that he proves his worth this season. He has excellent technical ability, an eye for goal, and can play on either flank. I suspect that the 27 year old winger will occupy the left, due to the exit of Martin Petrov and with Luis Garcia still recovering from knee surgery.

I am very pleased to be joining Atlético and I hope to be able to achieve great things.

A product of the Sporting CP youth system, Simao has previously played in Liga for Barcelona. After a mediocre period with the Catalan club, he returned to Portugal to play for Benfica– where he has played for the past 6 years, earning captainship.

3 Responses to “Simao Sabrosa Officially Joins Atlético Madrid!”

  1. Linda said

    Good signing, I think. Much better than getting Quaresma, who I think is far too unstable and lacks maturity. By the way, where’s Atletico getting all this money from? They’ve spent a lot for every single summer that I can recall.

  2. Linda said

    (I ask because I recently read about Atletico’s debts, which are pretty impressive to say the least.)

    Also, how many defensive reinforcements do you think the club needs?

  3. atleti said

    Agreed on Simao.

    I expect the Torres money (the only major summer export) paid for some outstanding debts. I have no idea where and how they’re pulling out the money for the big transfer buys, Forlan and Simao.

    I’m surprised the club haven’t brought in at least one new defender– yet. There are enough defensive reinforcements, I think, but I question the quality of them (their reliability, consistency, etc): Pernia, Ze Castro, and Valera (though he’s still out injured, so doesn’t count at this point). In truth, slim pickings. I still think there’s a chance Pernia will make a move out of the club.

Leave a Reply

 
