Atlético de Madrid

The love that hurts.

  • About Me

    26 year old in New York; Passionate fan of the beautiful game; lover of Argentina (los Albicelestes); long-suffering, devoted supporter of Atlético Madrid (los Rojiblancos) for the past 13 years.
  • a

  • Archives

Luis García Returns to Atlético

Posted by atleti on July 3, 2007

After three successful seasons with Liverpool, Luis Garcia returns to Spain to play for Atlético again. I say ‘returns’ because he did play for los rojiblancos in 2002-2003 on a loan deal (courtesy of Barcelona). During that season, he appeared 32 times and scored 9 goals.

The 29 year old midfielder, who hasn’t played for Liverpool since January due to injury, will add much needed creativity to the team. I see him playing as a support striker behind newly signed Forlan when needed or in the role of attacking midfielder. I’ve always been impressed with the Catalan: he’s type of player that finds space on the pitch and creates goal-scoring opportunities.

What’s more, he’s enthusiastic about returning to Spain, and more importantly, playing for los rojiblancos.

“…since I left Atletico, I had a monkey on my shoulders for not hav1ng been able to enjoy more years at this Club. Therefore, I’m really excited to be back. It was difficult to leave Liverpool, but I wanted to come back and play in Spain and this is a good opportunity to try and win titles. I did it in England and my goal is to do the same in Spain, and in this case, at Atletico. It’s a very special Club for me and I have a lot of affection for it.”

“…football is seen in a different way in England and playing there leaves a mark on any footballer. The Atletico fans are similar to those at Liverpool because they’re always cheering and encouraging. The truth is that they were great to me and showed me lots of affection. Anyway, I’m confident that we’re all going to do a good job to place Atleti where it deserves to be.”

I predict good things from the talented Catalan; he should be fully recovered from his January injury by the start of the season.

More on other new signings in the coming week.

3 Responses to “Luis García Returns to Atlético”

  1. Hia.

    Good luck to Garcia and Atletico. :)

    He’s a special player. Personally I’m sad to see he’s leaving.

    He might fit right in behind Forlan, as you say.

  2. atleti said

    I can hardly wait to see him in action next season. :)

    Best of luck with Torres; I hope he proves his critics wrong!

  3. :) Me too.

    YNWA !

Leave a Reply

 
